Birds of a Feather

[First] Friday Five October 4, 2013

Filed under: The everyday — kcfeather @ 7:36 pm

CBT

1. We had a great time in DC – our Saturday was full but also lots of fun. We had fun catching up with family over sweet potato home fries for breakfast (a Gaithersburg tradition), a lovely lunch in Georgetown with some soon-to-be-married friends, took in the views and snuck in a little exercise walking across the Key Bridge, got a tour of the Basilica at CUA from C’s former roommate, Brother Thomas (who lives right across the street), worshipped at the Saturday evening Vespers service at the Dominican House of Study, meandered around the Capitol as the sun was going down, and then had a fun moules frites dinner with P and L.

2. On our way home Sunday we stopped for a picnic lunch at Fort Washington State Park, and happened upon some bird watchers.  Though I would have expected bird watchers to be solitary and annoyed by rather loud novices, they were the opposite – very friendly and inviting and happy to share their love of watching hawks migrate.  They even had loaner binoculars.  I’m not sure what you call a group of bird watchers, but we learned that you call a group of hawks a kettle – although you can also use kettle as a verb to describe when the hawks all cluster together. As in, “You can see the hawks kettling just to lower right of the blue spot in the cloud.”

3. We recently learned about this couple, and are…just not sure what to think.  We may share a name with them, but hopefully not their fashion sense!

4. I’m in the middle of reading a book that I’m enjoying quite a lot – when I read it.  But it’s taking f.o.r.e.v.e.r and a day to get through it – I’ve been working on this book since July and I’m only at 20%.  It’s not particularly long, and I am enjoying it – it’s just that I only read a few pages at a time.  I think I need to mix it up and read a good old-fashioned page-turner before I return to the 80% that remains.  Does this ever happen to anyone else – getting stuck on a (good) book?

5. Both C and I had dentist appointments this week, and neither of us have cavities!  Which (especially for me) feels like quite an accomplishment.  I celebrated by eating a bag of gummy candy (oops!)  Still, woo-hoo!

 

Leave a Reply

