Birds of a Feather

Project: Living Room Rug September 7, 2010

Filed under: Crafty,Home — kcfeather @ 12:21 pm

The rugs that came with the house were also not our cup of tea.  We rolled them up and put them in a corner, and then I began shopping around for rugs.  But, it turns out that rugs are expensive – and particularly since we won’t be in this apartment forever, it didn’t make sense to invest in a nice rug that might not fit the next place we live. I scoured Homegoods, where there were some decent options, but none that I loved.

Then, I came across this tutorial and realized that I could make my own rug!  I found a great indoor/outdoor fabric with a pattern and color I loved that was 50% off at the local fabric store.  Here are the results:

Finished rug

Close-up of the quatrefoil pattern

 

4 Responses to “Project: Living Room Rug”

  1. Kari Says:

    I LOVE THIS!! I want to do this project tomorrow! It looks great! I have had not such great luck finding decently priced rugs myself in the past. This is a great tip for the next time I’m decorating!

  2. sherry Says:

    I love it. What’s next? Throw pillows.

  3. […] been great – my first project on it was the rug.  Then, I finally finished the cloth napkins that I had cut and pressed over a year ago.  I had a […]


Leave a Reply

