Birds of a Feather

A Room with a View October 16, 2009

Filed under: The everyday — kcfeather @ 2:21 pm
Fall Colors

Fall Colors

The Street, the (Old) Fire House, and Hoover Tower

The Street, the (Old) Fire House, and Hoover Tower

I thought I’d share the view from my office window with you. It’s quite pleasant, especially right now with all of the leaves turning. When sitting down, I primarily see the tree leaves; when standing up (I have a desk that rises and lowers so that I can work sitting or standing, whichever I prefer) I can see what’s going on outside, and catch a glimpse of Hoover Tower in the distance. I really can’t complain. Plus the office came with a mini fridge and a tea kettle, so I don’t even have to leave the room when I feel like tea (though it perhaps takes away from staff kitchen-interactions).

My memories of reading A Room with a View are at once bizarre and awful and wonderful. I read it on 9/11/2001 and the days following, on the lawn outside my dorm. It’s a beautiful book and it was perfect escapist literature…while reading I could forget everything that was happening, I could stop struggling to comprehend reality, and instead get lost in the story, concerning myself only with Lucy Honeychurch and joining her in her tour of Italy.

 

Leave a Reply

