Birds of a Feather

Saturday Six August 29, 2009

Filed under: California Dreaming,The everyday — kcfeather @ 4:37 pm

We’ve been staying busy enjoying the end of summer (and for C, working hard).

water balloons

1. It’s supposed to be 101 degrees today!!!  Good thing we’re having a church water balloon party in our backyard (or, as close to a backyard as you get when you live in cheap graduate student housing that looks like army barracks).

2. I love the SF Ferry Building. So much good food!  C loves it because when I go, I bring him home a sno-cone of cured meats. This way he can enjoy the tasties but avoid the crowds.

3. I joined the local public library (now that I no longer have borrowing privileges on campus). It’s great! The first book I read was Holes. Yes, I know – as C pointed out many times, it has a reading level of ages 9-12. However, I have been wanting to read it for ever, and I thoroughly enjoyed it when I finally did. Has anyone seen the movie?  Is it any good? Next up: Sherman Alexie’s The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian (another young adult book, though definitely moving up the reading levels) and Lisa See’s Snow Flower and the Secret Fan.

4. Still no progress on the job front for me, although I have found a number of little projects (both work and home related) to keep me busy. Work project for next week: planning training for upperclass leaders of the community service orientation program. Home project for next week: make cloth napkins and try a new granola recipe.

5. I stopped drinking coffee and most other caffeinated beverages. Am sticking with Jasmine tea.

6. We went kayaking a few weekends ago with EM and T in the Monterey Bay. It was lovely – we left from Cannery Row, saw otters, seals, and sea birds galore, paddled against the current up to Lover’s Point in Pacific Grove, had a picnic lunch, and eventually returned (paddling with the current is much easier!)  Then we drove 17 mile drive, and eventually had dinner at Peppers in PG.

003 004

 

Leave a Reply

